Reservations: 408-286-1000
Toll-free: 800-843-3700

Rooms & Suites

Amenities

REVIEWS!

HDA-Review-May-2014

______________________________________________________________________________
Travel Advisor Review Jan 2014

_______________________________________________________________________________

Expedia Verified

DeAnzaReview Expedia

_______________________________________________________________________________

reviewforweb

10/3/2013

I stayed here on a business trip and the De Anza suited all my needs well. The location was very close to the office I was visiting, and there are many restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. The staff is friendly and the room and facilities are very clean and neat. The desk is big enough for working, and there is a separate table with drop-down leaves in case extra work or storage space is needed. The lighting in the room is good with a bright desk lamp. There are a lot of nice touches that often aren’t found in chain hotels – purified water and ice on each floor (with a glass pitcher in the room), bedtime chocolates, robes, fruit available at all times, and complimentary snacks available after room service closes at ten. The small fitness room is very well maintained with new, clean equipment. It’s an old, historic building and there are a few things that come with that. The windows don’t seem to soundproof the room very well, as a lot of street noise (cars) and airplanes coming in to San Jose airport can be heard. Fortunately, there is not much traffic or aircraft at night. Also, I found it hard to get the temperature in the room consistently comfortable, as it’s set by a pointer dial between warm and cool, rather than by a specific temperature. All in all, I enjoyed the stay and would recommend the Hotel De Anza and would stay here again.

_______________________________________________________________________________

reviewhd

7/10/2013

We stayed here because we were going to an event at HP Pavilion. This hotel could not be more perfectly located! It is a two block walk to HP and there are a ton of different restaurants within walking distance to choose from as well. The hotel staff was very nice upon check in and the rooms were very nice as well. Additionally, their “raid our pantry” setup was great when we got back to the hotel from our event and needed a late night snack. Overall, a great value for the price. From now on, if we are going to an event at HP and need to stay the night, this is the hotel that we are going to stay at.

_______________________________________________________________________________

room_review

5/10/2013

The historic Hotel De Anza opened its doors to the public 70 years ago, in the middle of the Great Depression. Today the 144-room hotel stands proudly on the edge of downtown San Jose as a testament of all that the city has to offer: charm, sophistication and a rich cultural history….Read more

_________________________________________________________________________________

hotel review 5

3/20/2013

My husband and I just spent a night in San Jose for a quick business meeting and were able to book the De Anza at the last minute. We had a room on the corner facing Santa Clara Street, the main downtown street. Since this is an older art deco hotel, even though we were in the sixth floor we woke up pretty early to the street noise below. In fairness to the hotel, i am a light sleeper. Other than that slight disturbance the hotel is charming. The lobby and bar are authentic and enjoyable examples of art deco. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are spaciously remodeled with marble floors. In the evening, a pantry is open, free of charge to guests, for late night snacking complete with sandwiches, fruit and freshly baked cookies. The restaurant is pretty good and I would definitely eat here again. The staff was very responsive and very helpful. While there is no attached parking, valet service is available for $20 per night. The location of the hotel is convenient to downtown, to the sports arena and to many restaurants. All in all I would recommend staying here as an alternative to the larger and much busier Fairmont Hotel.

_________________________________________________________________________________

hotel review 4

3/19/2013

This hotel is beautiful and the best service I have ever experienced.
We stayed in a jr. suite which was spacious and comfortable. It featured a desk, couch, large bathroom & minibar. Lots of lamps, lots of windows *with curtains* and a closet with iron & ironing board. This hotel was built in the 1930′s and redone in modern decor. On the 2nd floor they have a small room for midnight snacks, called “raid the pantry”. I thought it would be a few cookies, but they had breads, deli trays, milk, juice & cookies. It does get crowded after customers flow in after concerts and games at nearby HP pavilion. It gets a little cramped in there and they did run out of a few things, but the hotel employees told us if anything was run out in the “pantry” let them know. When we checked out, they had a huge basket of more cookies, and another basket of fruit. He told us we can take as many as we want home since they bake hundreds of cookies all night. He even gave us small bakery cookie bags to take them in. The De Anza is within walking distance from the HP Pavilion, about 2 blocks. It’s not a huge hotel so does fill up if a major event is in town. The one downfall is paying for parking since it is in a downtown location. I think it was $15 for valet overnight parking, otherwise you would have to park a block away and pay in a parking garage anyway. I did see package deals which include parking. We didn’t eat at their restaurant, but it looks beautiful and the night we were there it was full.

_________________________________________________________________________________

hotel review

3/18/2013

The Hotel De Anza is a glorious hotel. Very beautiful and very friendly. This trip to San Jose was busy and frustrating, but staying at the De Anza made it all better. From the selection of delicious cookies at the front desk, and the warm and friendly staff, to the lovely rooms and fabulous public spaces, everything was just exactly what I needed to relax and unwind after a stressful day. This Hotel may be the best thing about San Jose. The bathrooms are spacious and clean, with lots of big, fluffy towels and robes. Wonderfully scented toiletries. A well appointed mini bar. An extensive room service menu. Oh, and of course, the “Raid Our Pantry” feature! They have a pantry on the second floor open from 10pm to 5am, stocked with sandwich fixins, coffee, hot chocolate, cookies, fruit, all the little stuff you may get peckish for in the wee hours. You are welcomed to help yourself,…at no charge! The staff sees to it that you are aware af all the services they have to offer you and are some of the nicest people you are likely to meet. Always ready to help, with a genuine smile. When I booked this reservation (at the last minute) I mentioned a price from one of the online discounters that I had found, and the reservationist (I think his name was Matt) immediately offered me the same price directly through the hotel. Then he remembered me when I checked in…nice. I am going on and on a bit about this lovely hotel, but please trust that it is well deserved. I had booked the earlier part of my trip to San Jose at another, similarly priced hotel, and was deeply disappointed. The De Anza was a last ditch attempt to salvage some pleasure. I will in the future stay exclusively at the De Anza. I never wanted to leave!As a last thought, please check out their Hedley Club Lounge. A beautiful and elegant jazz club with a large open air patio. A wonderful feature that you won’t want to miss.

_________________________________________________________________________________

RESERVATIONS 800.834.3700

Check-In Date Nights
Adults Children